Forum

Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Looking For a Place to Launch F-Series Motor

Page 1 of 3Next

I am looking for a place within an hour of Bay Head, NJ to launch an F-Series rocket. I have spent months designing and building the rocket (mostly building bc procrastination). I would really like to be able to launch, and soon.

Quote from SkyEpstein on July 23, 2024, 1:26 pm

I am looking for a place within an hour of Bay Head, NJ to launch an F-Series rocket. I have spent months designing and building the rocket (mostly building bc procrastination). I would really like to be able to launch, and soon.

You've found it. CENJARS flies in Wall NJ. From Bay Head, NJ just head up Rt. 34 to I-195. That's about 20 miles or so, and certainly within the hour for driving.

F-Series? Do you mean F class motor?

Yes! Sorry, I am new to rocketry and this is my first rocket built fully by myself. In the past, I have been a part of clubs and have not had to buy parts or really design the rockets. See you August 4th!

Admin and Ken Golomb have reacted to this post.
AdminKen Golomb

The big question is how high will the rocket go?  Max altitude should be about 800 feet.  We'll help you with any questions you have.

Simulations have the rocket going 200 meters, so probably a bit lower than that. One question: is it ok that the rocket uses a launch pad instead of launch rails? All simulations were done with a launch rail length of 0.

Quote from SkyEpstein on July 23, 2024, 9:07 pm

Simulations have the rocket going 200 meters, so probably a bit lower than that. One question: is it ok that the rocket uses a launch pad instead of launch rails? All simulations were done with a launch rail length of 0.

~900 feet. That should be fine.

What are you using for simulation?

Quote from SkyEpstein on July 23, 2024, 9:07 pm